Watching the Ball Drop

The other day I walked into my local running store and was confronted by the question no chaotically busy running mom wants to hear.

“So what are you training for?

Umm….errr….binge cooking?
Marathon present wrapping?
10k days of not running?

I spent some serious time cooking roast beast for the 20+ Who's in my Whoville

I spent some serious time cooking roast beast for the 20+ Who’s in my Whoville.

But in all serious, my personal guide to surviving the holidays…

Run to keep sane, but not at the cost of my sanity.

I did decide to mix it up a bit and change things a little bit more by doing the following:

Run Away.  When the kids ask where I’m going when I head out for a run I usually yell, “I’m running away….[long pause]…but don’t worry I’ll run back.”  But one day I decided not to actually loop back and ended up putting a call in about 2 miles in “I’m running west until the big ball in the sky drops.”   About 7.5 miles later I got picked up at Starbucks and was sure to stink up Chipotle on the way home post-run with the fam.  They were only moderately embarrassed by my sweaty state of affairs and forgave it after one taste of guacamole.  I wish I were sorry but I wasn’t.

A Christmas miracle!  TP in the port-a-potty on the run!!!

A Christmas miracle! TP in the port-a-potty on the run!!!

Change the Surface.  While everyone was seeking out a very white Christmas, I was checking out my very white [cap] Christmas by bounding around with some fantastic views and SOFT surfaces to run on hitting up a long stretch of the coast for a very, merry run.  As an added bonus, my creaky bones were happy for the padded surface.

IMG_5462

Go Up, Then Come Down.  I had some new tires that looked a little TOO clean (I felt like a New Year runner fraud with my brand, spankin’ new shoes) so I decided to get them a little dirty….

New Balance I love you, but serious ANOTHER set of white shoes designed for long distance runners?  *le sigh*

New Balance I love you, but serious ANOTHER set of white shoes designed for long distance runners? *le sigh*

Eventually I got them nice and dirty by going up, up, and away on some trails….

So pretty....even the fog in the valleys....

So pretty….even the fog in the valleys….

So for now, I’m just running to run….I have a few things out on the horizon, but as for now, I’m ditching the regular routes that have gotten beyond run of the mill (all puns intended) for me and mixing it up with some new approaches.

What’s been boring you lately?

How do you mix up your runs?

6 thoughts on “Watching the Ball Drop

  1. Work is totally boring me….lol I always run the same route, but recently started doing some indoor speed workouts at an indoor track and that has actually been fun and enjoyable and helped me shave a minute off my pace! Here’s to some good running in 2014!

  2. And those look like some choice places to mix things up–jealous! I like the approach you are taking…makes tons of sense to me. There is always a time and place to start training and if that’s not now, that’s all good.

    Me? Just had my PRP injection into my butt, so now onto some real healing!

    • Oh I’ve been dying to hear about your recovery. I’ve been on and off with a high hamstring tendonitis and it’s just super frustrating. Getting my hips aligned made a huge difference, but there’s been some longer-term damage control as a result! And yes I’m blessed with the different places to run here!

  3. I do different runs every day of the week to shake things up a bit.
    Oh I would never be able to run a step in white shoes without worrying about getting them dirty.. I’ve seen a lot of awesome looking white shoes but I just can’t buy them.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

