True Confession Thursday: Travel Woes

Let’s face it, life as a full-time working mom has it’s challenges from time to time. 

or some of the time

or all of the time.

I love reading about dedicated, diligent running schedules and finding the time to get in crazy, amazing miles.  But the reality is…

this isn’t my reality.  

I ran about 4.5 miles on Monday evening.  The sun set super fast so I had to dash my last one out in 6:45 to abate my “getting assaulted on the side of the road” (yes this happened locally about 2-3 years ago and still has me petrified) fear and left my hip/hammy with much to be desired after bolting downhill for a mile.

Add a crazy busy work week, including traveling cross-country and conversations like this happen:

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 1.17.32 PM.png

Yes I was trying to find somewhere to stash my bags so I could run in the tunnel under Atlanta airport.  Lucky for the person next to me on the 4+ hour flight home, I wasn’t able to find somewhere to do that.

Yes I know I’ve seen the sign:
someone-busierBut I’m running out of hours, and perhaps even more challenging – hours of daylight!

To be honest, what is most frustrating is that the busier I am, the more I need a little “sanity run”.   I’m in the middle of mapping out my upcoming races, but I do know I need more than 10 miles a week to make such things happen.

So I need your help – what’s your most creative way to squeeze in workouts?

4 thoughts on “True Confession Thursday: Travel Woes

  1. You’re right–it’s not easy, especially if you are working FT. I think when you spend time reading blogs like we do, it’s easy to get a skewed perception about how people manage everything with ease (they don’t!). My only advice would have to be get up as early as you can stand it. Not always fun, I know, but sometimes the only way to do it.

  2. I don’t know what your work schedule is like, but when I start to get really busy, I try to run at lunch. I can easily get in 3-4 miles and shower before I should get back to work. Good luck! I know finding time to workout can be incredibly challenging!

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

