The Hills Are Alive

After my last post on Thursday, I decided I have some awesome running friends.  Despite the fact I talked about peeing all over myself like a small child, I got an email from a few running friends asking to hit some local trails.

Now I frequently tell my family I’m going to go “get lost” in the trails for a while, and by this I mean run a little then come back.  But early Friday morning, we took my advice a bit too literally.  Skinny Runner, Sarah and I snuck out for what was supposed to be a quick 5 miles in the local “mountains”….until we got lost and ran about 8.5…

Photo shamelessly stolen from Sarah

Photo shamelessly stolen from Sarah

This is probably my fault since there’s a legendary story about my Grandma going out for a walk outside her house in the mountains one morning and ending up hitch hiking home when she realized she was 10 miles away…I hear this lost in the mountain things is genetic.

I’m usually one to like running alone- the quiet, the solitude and the pressure to not have to worry about my pace (these ladies are fast).   Despite being lost, the miles easily flew by as we discussed important things like who’s dad has had the best hunting season, the best place to pee in the bushes and family stuff.

As Ferris Bueller once wisely said, “Life moves pretty fast”, and sometimes I just want to move my feet faster.  While doing this alone can be cathartic, there’s something about running with friends.  I left the run totally refreshed and honestly, wanting to go run another few miles…which is not something I can say lately.  Each run has felt like I’m fighting my body and looking for twinges, tickles and fearing I’m running too fast/too far in my recover efforts and to just let it all go and run was so freeing.

After that run, I just wanted to go run 15 miles in the mountains over the weekend.  Instead I spent the rest of the weekend not running and cross-training instead to let my little injury laiden hips/legs recover from Friday’s crazy fun hill run like a good little recovery patient.

photo(7)

Saturday’s short-lived workout…

This took SO much fine muscle control in your legs.  You basically have this 40 pound snowboard type thing booted to your feet and have to keep it stable.  My hip flexors were killing me. Follow that up by a day of moving my cousin into a second story condo.  The theme of this weekend was all about creative workouts.

As far as recovery goes….just how does one recover from a funky SI joint that’s caused lots of problems for a long time.  The short story:  slowly.

The long story:
-Lots of strengthening exercises in my hips/back/glutes.  I spent a good chunk of time doing all sorts of variations of leg lifts, bridges, and side planks.
-Still taking the runs easy – either shorter and faster or longer and slower.  I’ve been running about 1-2 minutes per mile slower if I’m running over 4 miles.  I’m still keeping my mileage about 20 miles a week tops.
-I’m still in a very serious relationship with my foam roller, lacrosse ball and a little stability ball where I balance my SI joint to get it back in alignment.

What’s your most creative workout lately?
Have you ever had to patiently recover from an injury and live to tell the tale?

9 thoughts on “The Hills Are Alive

  1. Haha that water-jet-pack-thing looks fun!

    And yes! I have a bulged disc in my lower back, so I used to not be able to run >3 miles without severe back pain. Took a lot of training and learning how to run differently to be able to run without pain.

  2. Injury recovery story: I had wrist surgery. Couldn’t bend my wrist. Was a cast & stuff. So I did pushups on my knuckles. No wrist bending required. Probably not advised, huh?

    That pic of you scared me. I thought it was some type of hydraulic-catapulting system, in which case, I would have requested video.

  3. Oh the trails, I miss them so much! I’ve been dowm wirh injury too. I wish you a safe and swift (as can safely be) recovery. That water jet thingie looks AWESOME!!!! Saw a story about it on the news this summer, super cool! Great pic too, move over Aqua Man!!

  4. Pingback: True Confession Thursday: When Runs Suck | Striding Mom

  5. Pingback: True Confession Thursday: Spilled Water | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

