True Confession Thursday: I See London, I See France

I got my hands on some runderpants.  

Somewhere in the misery of running uphill in the double digits of the Boston Marathon, I started laughing…and I’m not talking about a mild chuckle, I’m talking about a full on guffaw.  Probably because I saw this (or because of delirium…but that’s a whole other story):

If you’ve spent any time here at Striding Mom, you know that i kinda sorta joke tell the truth about me peeing in my pants when running.  I actually searched it on my blog and there were nearly 15 posts about this, so clearly I talk about it more than your average runner.

Yes, I know this peeing business is mostly normal, but my situation is a little worse than the average bear’s.

So when I received an email about the Dear Kate Believe I Am underwear and was asked to tell my story about how “I Am Strong” I knew it was probably time to channel my inner Lucy, because I have some “splaining to do”.

The duds, and they're certainly dapper!

The duds, and they’re certainly dapper!

The Back Story:

42.5 weeks - which is literally cruel and unusual punishment.

42.5 weeks – which is literally cruel and unusual punishment.  Oh and I apparently looked 12 when I was pregnant.  Not, in my 20’s.

I found out I was pregnant about 9 months after I ran my first half marathon and finally started really running again (beyond a quick 2 mile jog here and there).  I spent a lot of time during my pregnancy running on the treadmill ( I know, I know, hormones made me do crazy things) and even hitting up the streets when possible.  After childbirth I thought something felt “funny” but as a first-time mom I had no idea what normal really was.

So when a few days passed and I was literally peeing my pants every time I stood up, walked, or basically moved- and then the severe pain started- I knew something was up.

Long story short – days upon days in the ER, hospital (including a moment where I was literally feet in the stirrups and breastfeeding and the ER resident “forgot the door open” exposing my severely harshed lady bits to all the unsuspecting passerby’s), literally pulling a liter of blood out of my bladder, infection after infection, reactions to drugs that literally made me crazy, hives and so many more fun adventures, I ended up with a catheter for about 6 weeks and was pretty much completely incontinent.

Like, I had to re-potty train myself….in my 20’s.

#superawesome

No one put that nugget in the new mom manual that I never received.

End of race exhaustion?  No, just my Nuun running down my legs....

End of race exhaustion? No, just my disgust at the Nuun running down my legs….

I spent a year consistently peeing myself and when the “impact” of the elliptical was tough to navigate, running was fully out of the question.  About a year later, I found myself preggers again and had to have a c-section after 3 physicians warned me I’d likely be fully incontinent going through the whole traditional childbirth thing again.  As I left the hospital, my doc reminded me that a 3rd kid would basically render me taking stock in Depends, so I always kept that li’l nugget fearfully tucked into the back of my mind.

6 weeks after a c-section I went out for a jog and came home like my then 2-year old who was potty training….meaning I pretty much peed about 3 feet from the front door through whimpers and wines.  As a mother of 2, I was having as many accidents as the kids were.

It was about 7 years of turning down the dial on my hobby, but with persistence, a series of docs, more Kegels than any human being should ever do, sheer determination and rebuilding a lot of muscles, I’ve finally been able to stop running with shirts tied around my waist…most of the time.  Yes, there are still moments where out of nowhere I just completely pee myself during a race, and yes I go to the port-a-potty about 19 times before a race and pee at least 3 times before I leave my house to make sure every.single.drop has been left behind.

And because of these lapses, I honestly am SO digging the Believe I Am runderpants.  If you want to read the details about how they work you can check it out here, but basically it has lots o’ special liners that help keep you fresh if you spring a leak.

The fab folks at Dear Kate connected me with a few pairs of their new duds. They arrived in this cute little box and came with one pink “partially lined” and one black “fully lined” pair of bikini cut panties.  As a boxer brief/boy short kinda gal, this was close to me wearing a thong…but I digress…

IMG_4833

Oh and the cutest little poem as well!

IMG_4831

Some women run in them sans shorts, but let’s face it, my self-esteem just isn’t cut out for PDU’s (public displays of underwear), so I have been testing them under my running shorts and capris.

The DL:

-They do the trick.  I didn’t have a full-on pee sesh in any of the days I was wearing them (where were they when I was running Long Beach a few weeks ago?  Oh that’s right, in the  dirty laundry), but they did save me from any sneezes, coughs or minor “incidents” that happen.

-Runder my shorts.  I totally dug them under the shorts, they didn’t feel like I had anything on like I usually wear, and they kept me feeling a little fresher post-run when I didn’t get to change in 2.2.  They also stayed put inside my running shorts not creeping, in, out or thereabout.

-Runder my capris.  I *heart* wearing my running capris to just bum around in pretty much every day.   But I always face the great “underwear debate”.  This is clearly public knowledge because the other day Vanilla walked up to me and asked, “Are you free ballin’ it in those pants Mom?”  Uhhhh…okay…maybe.

Because yes, usually I do wear my capris sans underwear, but it’s not always my most favorite thing (remember Lululemon?).  I wore them under my capris for both day-to-day  and also for a 4.5 mile run the other day.  Outlook: Good.  I did have to do one creeper grab to fix a mini-wedgie about 1 mile in, but from that point on they stayed completely put.  My only complaint was some serious VPL.

When push comes to shove, I am totally digging my runderwear and am ready to give them a shot on a long run here in the near future.

What’s been one of your greater running challenges?

Are you a card carrying member of the SPC (Spontaneous Pee Club)?

9 thoughts on “True Confession Thursday: I See London, I See France

  1. Wow congrats to you for not giving up and “retraining” yourself! I might have broken down, given up, and said bring on the Depends! I’m not an SPC member, but I pee a lot! I drink a ton and have a bladder the size of a walnut.

  2. Oh wow. You are one trooper of a mama. I will no longer lament my occasional leakage! I’m really glad you ‘ve been able to improve the situation, and find some undies that help. I may need these one of these days….

  3. What an ordeal with babies! Glad you have a solution now. I thought you were more or less joking about the pee-pee stuff. Thanks for breaking it all down and telling your story.

  4. Pingback: True Confession Thursday: Bad Timing | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

