iTryathlon Youth Sprint: Strawberry’s Perspective

Today’s post is a guest post from my favorite ginga ninja.  Last weekend Strawberry participated in the iTryathlon Sprint Tri.  So here’s the perspective of a Sprint Tri through the eyes of an 8-year old.

Standing at the starting line in a sea of women and looking petrified

Standing at the starting line in a sea of women and looking petrified

Strawberry’s Overview (Self-Typed):

Age Group Awards (Placed 2nd of 7)

Age Group Awards (Placed 2nd of 7)

So  i did it. I didn’t do very well though but i got second place in my age group. The running was really hard but it was just that big hill that slowed me down but i did the full itryathlon.  I was really bad at the biking super bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But the rest i was okay with the swim was really hard.

I was really struggling I saw Heather when i was running up a really big hill.  It was about 1 mile long, but the rest of the run was downhill so i just sprinted the rest of the way. Bike time I was really good at the up hill but not the big hill. I saw a dead goose i was just thinking of all the ways it it could’ve died and that goose did not look pretty for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So what do I do? Ride fast. I didn’t see it the second lap the helpers may have cleaned it up.

Photo by Mr. Heather

Photo by Mr. Heather

Strawberry’s Q&A (Spoken aloud and typed by Mom)

What was your favorite part?
Probably the running because it was the easiest.  It was the perfect temperature and I got to run through the clouds because it was still foggy.

IMG_1030

What was the hardest part?
Biking for sure.  I didn’t have a gear shifting bike and people were zooming past me and I just kept going the same pace.  I felt a little depressed watching them zoom by.

In the transition area.  Thanks to mega volunteer Julie for this snapshot.

In the transition area. Thanks to mega volunteer Julie for this snapshot.

How did you feel when you were finished?
Sick but proud.  I felt like I might barf because it was hard to swim and catch my breath.  I almost threw up in the pool.  Ugh.  

Mom swimming me into the finish line

Mom swimming me into the finish line

If you did it again what would you do differently?
Probably do better on the biking.  I would like to have a gear shifting bike, not a BMX bike by then.  I might work to be a little faster.

How do you get through the hard parts of a race when you want to quit?
Don’t quit.  You have to stay strong and know it’s not about winning, it’s about having fun.  I kept thinking about what it would be like to finish a full triathlon and that made me finish.  You’ve gotta think strong to feel strong.

Just out of the pool!

Just out of the pool!

What would you tell other kids who are thinking about doing a triathlon?
It’s hard but you feel proud of yourself.  

At the awards ceremony - placed 2nd in his AG out of 7.  Go kiddo!

He was so happy at this very moment!

13 thoughts on “iTryathlon Youth Sprint: Strawberry’s Perspective

  1. I don’t know why some blogs are so hard to comment on from my phone, but so be it. Just had to say what a interview with your little guy. Please tell him that some random other mom stranger is so proud of him for doing it! And I’d take a second place win any day:)
    Also whoot whoot congrats to you too!!
    Can’t wait till I get my coveted BQ so I can do something else active besides train for a marathon! Dang it’s so close I can taste it-of course now I’m freaked I have the beginning a of PF. Bla
    Congrats again!

  2. “You gotta think strong to feel strong”
    What a wise young fellow!

    The first time trying something new is always a challenge, but good on you, Strawberry, for getting out there and giving it your best shot! I hope to hear more recaps for more races in the future 🙂

  3. Hey Butter Bean! What a great blog! I was so glad we got to talk facetime after and I really really wish I could have been there to do it with you. Maybe next year! Then both you and your Mom could swim me to the finish line 🙂 So proud of you xoxoxoxo

  4. Woo hoo! Congrats, Strawberry. I think you are a pretty smart triathlete. This is such a smart idea: “You’ve gotta think strong to feel strong.”

    [Your Mama must have taught you well! 🙂 ]

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

