Mind Over Matter

The other day was a significant day in the life of Strawberry….we learned a lot of lessons.  Most importantly, he learned the way to his mother’s heart early in the morning is to figure out how to make coffee.

IMG_4439The whole day was laced with meaningful conversations but he shared some serious conflict about the upcoming iTryathlon he’s participating in.  I have repeatedly told him he doesn’t need to do it, but he insists this is what he wants to do, despite his fears. (Sidenote: I  have NO idea where he gets this from. ;) )

Yes, he’s doing the full thing (3 mile run, 9 mile bike, 200 yard swim).

Strawberry:  What if I fall off my bike?  What if someone runs me over?  What if I fall off my bike and someone runs me over?
Me:  Uhh….errr….I’m kinda afraid of the same thing kid.  When was the last time you fell off your bike though, seriously?
Strawberry:  Yesterday.
[mother fail]

On a training run

On a training run

Here was the next life lesson this little bugger had to learn:  he has the “it” gene.  You know those people who drive you crazy?  The ones who can literally put their mind to something that’s humanly possible, but way outside the realm of expectation and can….well….nail it.

That’s him.  Raffle tickets – he’s probably got the winning one.  Bust out a sub 25-minute 5k at 7 years old.  Why not?  Your mom asks you to try and prove you’re ready for a triathlon without ANY training and do a 3 mile run and 10 mile bike – in his sleep (I really didn’t think he could do it).  Learning how to add and subtract fractions?  Did it on Monday morning before breakfast.  He’s actually been dying to write a blog post, I told him he can do a recap after the race on Saturday, but honestly I’m afraid he’ll probably do a better job  and take over the blog…

When I grow up….I want to be like him.

That said, I’m actually a little jittery about this weekend.  I’ve got niggly hammy which has been on and off since May, I still freak out going fast on my bike, I spent an hour the other day trying to figure out how to work the darn brakes so how am I actually supposed to, you know, use it, and in typical female fashion – I don’t know what to wear.

Didn’t I go through this last year?  Yes, and clearly I didn’t learn my lesson.

Do you have any littles you actually look up to?

What fear are you facing these days?

8 thoughts on “Mind Over Matter

  1. But sometimes…being forced to pretend that you know what you’re doing, in order to help someone else through, is the best way to stop worrying about your own fear and just do it, right? Good luck. I suspect you’ll both do great. Just don’t…umm…get run over or anything, OK? 🙂

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

