Whole ‘Nother Level

Weekly Recap
Monday – 4 Miles Running
Wednesday – 6 Miles Running
Friday – 2,000m Swimming (with super creeper dude), 4.5 miles walking
Saturday – 10 miles running, 1,200m swimming
Sunday – 10 miles biking (fast)

I really am TRYing to mix it up to prepare for the iTryathlon

The other day the following conversation took place in the back of the car:

Strawberry:  Mom!  Guess, what?!
Me:  What babe?
Strawberry:  [in abundant excitement] I HAVE HAIR ON MY TOES!!
Me:  Ummmm…okay
Strawberry:  That means I’m becoming a man.  Oh my gosh!  This is so exciting….

Clearly we both have grown up maturity levels

Clearly we both have grown up maturity levels

The rest of the boys then proceeded to find hair on any part of their body and declare their newfound steps toward manhood.

Just like Strawberry’s taking it to a whole ‘nother level in his manhood, I’m realizing I need to probably do the same in my running life.  While I have been running less miles per week, I have been running much speedier strides.

After most of my runs I’ve been looking at my watch and thinking I’m kind of a bad ass.  Now let’s clarify my bad ass scale:

2013-07-28

1 is your crazy grandma and 10 is Lauren Fleshman.  Let’s just say I’ve been putting myself at about a 5 on this scale.

Before I get too far on my high horse, I realized it’s time to get some work done.  And I’m not talking like a starlet in her 50’s worrying about HDTV showing every nook and cranny…I’m talking about getting past the next plateau.

I can stay here, but I can also use plateau as a platform to take it to a whole ‘nother level.  It’s time for me to figure out how to step it up.  I’m not a coach, I’m not a crazy good runner with a ton of experience, but I know it’s time for me to start changing my expectations and reframing what my workouts look like if I want to step it up.  I should probably sit down and set some goals, figure out just how to set them and research what you’re supposed to do instead of my MO – winging it. #somuchwork

What are your best “next level” resources?

How do you plan/map your next performance goals?

3 thoughts on “Whole ‘Nother Level

  1. Don’t be intimidated by the thought of taking it “to the next level”. If you’re talking about running, specifically, it’s pretty easy.

    1. Choose a goal race. I like to recommend half-marathons, because the training time is more reasonable than a marathon, but the race is long enough that you can see significant gains if you put in the work. But for people who like to train with shorter, more intense bouts of running, a 10K is also a nice goal race.

    2. Find a training plan. If you haven’t been following one, it’s likely to include more structured – and a bit more faster – running than you’ve been doing. This will automatically give you a training boost. How to find a plan? Figure out how many days/week you can run. Decide how many hard days your body can handle. Peruse a few, or talk to a coach, and find one that works for you. Or, ask the blogosphere. 🙂

    Good luck!

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

