*Knock* *Knock* Anyone There?

Hey remember when I had a blog?

Yeah neither do I….After the chaos of the move, I decided to take a little vacation to go see the fam so I’ve been off the grid.  Don’t worry, the NSA knew where I was every step of the way, even without my posting.

Just don't tell anyone that I stored my kid in a bucket to save on travel expenses....

Just don’t tell anyone that I stored my kid in a bucket to save on travel expenses….

While the vacation shenanigans have been abundant, there was some running and racing (recap to come soon) in there.  My fear of heat and humidity (yes my children’s suspicions are confirmed, I am, indeed the Wicked Witch of the West) were abated when I found the midwest to be cooler and less humid than normal.

At home, my runs are pretty consistent and I usually have a good sense how fast I’m going, but my times were ALL OVER THE MAP in the MIdwest.  My first run out of the gate was on the hottest and humid of days and after 4 miles I thought I would die after running perceived 8:30 minute miles….so I quit.

IMG_4084Apparently I don’t know myself very well….perhaps I should stick with guessing what size diaper to buy for a small child or if a watermelon is ripe.

More to come when I can unpack my underwear and actually find my tooth brush….scintillating updates like how I won a mason jar and how not to run a 5k in the humidity will come soon.  Contain yourself, I know I hardly can!

What did you do for the 4th of July?

Have you run any races lately?

4 thoughts on “*Knock* *Knock* Anyone There?

  1. Hahaha! Looks like (from the very bottom of your map) that you had a few quick out and backs in that run, too! 😉

    I spent the fourth running 20 miles, then relaxing with a few close friends – and then my husband and I got to go up to Rochester to spend the weekend with some running buddies and assorted friends I made during grad school.

    Relax, unpack, find your Q tips and contact lens solution (the two items that I, and my husband, respectively, are apt to lose track of during moves/travel). We’ll be here when you’re ready. 🙂

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

