True Confession Thursday: Getting Runchy

???  Strides
OMG I’m not Even Really Tracking Strides Anymore
#whoami #wheresstridingmom

As a full-time working mom, I’m often asked when I run.

My answer:  Whenever I can

As I have alluded to, I have a pretty…errrr…unique work schedule.  I work from home a lot of the time and have a pretty flexible work schedule (yes my favorite time of day to work is about 5:30-7am ).  But one of my favorite things is runch.

What is runch you ask? It’s like brunch, but instead of stuffing my face with calories, I burn them.  And I wear spandex instead of fancy clothes.  And I drink after runch instead of during brunch.

So brunch and runch pretty much have nothing in common except 5 letters and occurring roughly around the same time of day.

health-cartoon

The perks of runch:

Getting Unstuck.  Truth be told, on some days I get stuck under the steady influx of emails, calendar requests, and the general desire to bang my head against the wall when I’m troubleshooting the same issue for the 93rd time that day.  40 minutes on the trails, street, or just running in circles usually gives my brain enough time to step away long enough to come back renewed and refreshed.

Pardon My Caffeine.  It makes for a great excuse to sip on some Nuun Cherry Limeade and sneak in an early afternoon dose of caffeine.

#Nuunme

#Nuunme  This was after a good ol’ runch the other day

Brain Games.  Study after study after study show that moving your body turns on your brain. You’re more creative, more alert, and more effective in getting your work done.  According to this FastCompany article, running makes you a genius.  They said it therefore it must be true.

One of the most cited articles was from Newsweek a few years back.  They noted:

Almost every dimension of cognition improves from 30 minutes of aerobic exercise, and creativity is no exception. The type of exercise doesn’t matter, and the boost lasts for at least two hours afterward.

Since my smarts pretty much disappeared when I became a mom, I’ll take a boost of anything I can get to give me an edge.

Geniuses spend the entire day looking for their shopping list which was in their sports bra for 5 hours.

Geniuses spend the entire day looking for their shopping list which was in their sports bra for 5 hours. #truestory

But seriously, some of the most fascinating research finds that if you’re an active person, the most effective thing you can do to get the creative juices flowing is to shake your tail feather for about 20-40 minutes.  I honestly have some of my best “ah ha” moments for work when I take a little midday run break.  The situation that seemed to have no solution suddenly has one, and my productivity definitely peaks for a while after.

Working on My Runner’s Tan.  Because nothing says check me out like a white racerback tan line  and a nice “high 5” (five inches of white thigh up high). I wouldn’t want to let these sexy features fade into oblivion.

IMG_3528Do you ever runch?  If so, what’s the biggest perk for you?

What’s your favorite time of day to workout?

I actually prefer the first thing in the morning run (I know, I know….)

7 thoughts on “True Confession Thursday: Getting Runchy

  1. You are making a pretty damn good case for runch! I’m glad it works for you. I am an early morning runner, always have been, always will be. I love running the day into focus…

  2. Runch is a pretty warm endeavor out here, but if I’m gonna hit the trails (which are shaded), it doesn’t matter much – the humidity is omnipresent, and I’m not gonna fuss over one or two degrees (even if they are in Celsius). So sometimes I will head out to runch…especially if I’m feeling sleepy. This does the trick! Or…erm…delays the heavy eyelids until later in the day! 😉

    I love to workout in the morning, but morning is my best time for EVERYTHING – so if I need focused, productive work time, then the workout gets pushed. I’ll sneak it in wherever I can, then. Mid-day, early evening, evening…whatever, wherever.

  3. Hmmm. I am in need of a runch today. It may be a late one since I already imbibed in my lunch and don’t want to lose my smashed cauliflower on the side of the road.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

