It Ain’t Pretty, But It Sure Was Nice

It’s hard to believe it’s been 2 weeks since Boston.

Recovery has been rough…and quite honestly, while there was pain, I actually heeded Josie’s advice, just a little too well.

Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 9.18.52 PM.png

Yes, I was hurt, but I was also just emotionally, physically and mentally spent, so I’ve kind of been a bum for two weeks….

But over the weekend I started getting twitchy toes.  The bike riding and cross training at the gym wasn’t exactly cutting it.  My hatred for the gym was in full effect and if my family thought the taper tantrums were bad, watching me not run at all was starting to wreak havoc on those around me.

After enough ibuprofen, rolling and a few days of feeling good, I tied up the (new) laces and hit the road.  You might have seen me out there….

I’m pretty sure this is how I looked.  Pounding and prancing for about 4 miles on the streets  with a goofy grin on my face.  Actually I started out all panicked and tense and realized it wasn’t going to help anything, so I let go and watched over a minute slip off my pace as I pounded out the last few miles.

I don’t have any major looming goals ahead of me, and it’s kind of nice.  I have my 12 in 12 challenge that’s ongoing, but running a half marathon once a month doesn’t seem to be too problematic.  I had originally toyed with the idea of pushing myself on the Laguna Hills Half at the end of May to make up for last year’s epic failure, but I don’t want to get injured or tick my knee off again, so it seems a fun run is in order.

So for now, I’ll run for the sake of running, race when I want to, and evaluate what I’m doing next.

The last year has taught me a few things about my running:

I love the challenge of full marathon training, but I like hanging out with my family more.  The truth is these little buttheads really like hanging around with me now.  In about 4 years, they’re going to want to be with their friends and that’s going to come so freaking fast.  I want to eat up every moment I can with them like it’s a molten lava cake.

IMG_2576-001

-I’m a middle distance, moderately fast kinda gal.  Too short and too fast and I’m too hurt.  Too long and too slow and I’m hurt.  I’ll go with the halfsie and a moderately quick pace and see where that leads me.  That said, it will likely lead me to the beer tent to celebrate my accomplishment while I wait for my uber ambitious friends to finish their additional 13 miles. Pshhh….

IMG_2224

Sarah and I celebrating a new PR in October – first tapped keg #winning

What big goals do you have coming up?

What’s your most favoritest run recently?

8 thoughts on “It Ain’t Pretty, But It Sure Was Nice

  1. Big Goals: Acquire some chocolate cake for dessert. Stay awake until 10PM. Do not eat all the sour gummy bears in one sitting. How’s that? 😉

    Seriously though…Big (running, I assume) Goals: Choose – then train smart and run strong – an “experience building” marathon for the year.

    Favoritest run lately: Along the Indian River in Florida. Some less humid air and a gorgeous breeze made this run an amazing and welcome change from running in Singapore!

  2. I’m glad you took the time (and Josie’s advice–love that girl!) to be good to yourself. Emotional stress is a big physical stress also. And I get the whole thing about the kids, too. Mine are 8 and 12 and I KNOW this is the sweet spot…soon they’ll not want anything to do with me!

  3. Great posting — loved the video clip 🙂 I recall running like that for the first little while after a marathon. Walking down steps was also “interesting” — LOL.

    Good decision to spend time with the bambinos now; they do grow up so quickly!

    Take care. Keep up your wonderful sense of humour and outlook on life.

    Hugs,

  4. I like that you see/realize/know whats good for you and your family. I think too many people fall into the “I HAVE to run marathons” trap. no, do what’s best for YOU.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

