T-Minus 100

5 Miles
Stomach Unfriendly Strides

Newsflash:  I’m allergic to cold.  It leads to rashes, skin itching, and questionable fashion sense.

Why I shouldn't be allowed to shop in the Midwest

Why I shouldn’t be allowed to shop in the Midwest

Can you believe that baby was marked down 70% off?  Amazing.

Due to real sickness and my cold “allergy” I bombed what should have been peak training for the Surf City Marathon.  And I resolved that I’d just run the half instead and I was so okay with this.  (We will focus on that pesky “was” here in a bit).

Honestly, the only reason I was running it was so I had more than one full marathon under my belt before Boston.  I mean, I’m going to be with all of these people who run marathons like I eat chocolate chip cookies for breakfast and I’m going to have to be having this awkward conversation…

Uber Runner:  So how many marathons did you run last year?
Me:  Oh just one.
UR:  Oh slow year, eh, injuries?  Childbirth (even that’s not an excuse)?  What gives?
Me:  Oh I’ve only run one…umm…ever.  Totally undeserving to be here, party of one.

Yes, when you finish a marathon looking like this, you clearly know what you're doing. *eye roll*

Yes, when you finish a marathon looking like this, you clearly know what you’re doing. *eye roll*

And like I said, I was okay with this…until I got some awful social media message (Twitter, Facebook, whatev Bev, it don’t matter because it was so scary) that informed me that as of today, there are 100 days until the Boston Marathon.

Swallow that with a pill of “it’s okay no biggie you’re skipping the full marathon sweetheart”.

And so it goes, I’m going in with one full marathon under my belt and I can’t change that, but I do have 100 days to get my butt in gear, to build on the mileage and fitness I created this fall…and even if I bomb the race, hey, at least I got to go which I never thought I’d ever, ever do.  Fun times.

What’s the scariest thing you heard this week?

What’s the best way to get rid of hiccups?
According to Strawberry, it’s to get hic-down.  You learned something new here at Striding Mom today folks.

2 thoughts on “T-Minus 100

  1. Pingback: The Big Guns | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

