That Chaps Both Sets of Cheeks

5 Miles
Frigid Strides

As I mentioned earlier, I’m currently in Chicago (or at least the suburbs).  I’m proud of my Chi town heritage.  In fact, I regularly sport my favorite Oiselle t-shirt….

I was trying to make up for my lack of miles and set out this evening for a 7-8 mile run.  But apparently Mother Nature had other plans.

Though I dressed like a layered freak…

Check out my cutie patootie niece and nephew

Check out my cutie patootie niece and nephew

The run should have been so scenic and serene:  a dusting of snow, barren trees, frozen ponds. It was the stuff they sing about in Christmas carols, how could it not be anything but lovely, right?

IMG_2729

Notsomuch.

It wasn’t enough with the 20-30 mph sustained winds at a balmy 20 degrees outside so mother nature reminded me why I love So Cal by introducing snow 1 mile into the run.  And I’m not talking light fluffy flakes.  I’m talking about pellets of snow/ice that beat into my face.

So 7-8 turned to 5 and I returned home unable to feel either set of cheeks on my body or my hands.  I vowed to set up my sister’s treadmill in order to get through the next week.

And yes, I do recognize I’m a spoiled So Cal brat.  Yes I’m complaining about the bitter cold.  Yes, my kids opened swim trunks and t-shirts while their cousins opened fleece pants for Christmas…but to each his/her own.

When do you call it quits running weather wise?

5 thoughts on “That Chaps Both Sets of Cheeks

  1. The last time I ran in cold weather it was 15 degrees outside, and a little kid at the bus stop that I ran past yelled at me, “are you crazy? do you know how cold it is out here?”

  2. Well, I’m a newer runner and live in Los Angeles, so I’d say I’m a pretty big baby. I had hoped to do about 7 miles today but woke up to pouring rain. I guess I’ll hit the gym. Hope you’re having a great trip!

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

