A Not So Sweaty Christmas

In my brilliant planning I didn’t realize that peak week training would hit right at Christmas.

#fail

Despite the busyness , I still had grand plans to squeeze in my 22 miler last weekend.

Then this happened.

KleenexAnd then this happened.

Thank you $2 corkage fee and heavy French meal for destroying my 22 miler

Thank you $2 corkage fee and heavy French meal for destroying my 22 miler

And eventually I eeked out 7.5 very slow miles…which probably did nothing for conditioning and simply served to clear my sinuses temporarily.  Then I didn’t run for 5 days.

Instead, I spent my time flying across the country to see my family in the frozen tundra Chicago.

IMG_2727

Some of you ate nice breakfasts at home for Christmas morning. We managed tacos on the plane for brunch. How LA chic.

And while there was a little of this

IMG_2716

And definitely some of this

IMG_2713There was very little use for any of this in my stocking…

IMG_2702So as the fevers and coughs seem to be dissipating and my body is acclimating to the frigid air…perhaps I’ll dust off the old running shoes and get back on marathon track.

How was your holiday?
Did you get coal in your stocking?

4 thoughts on “A Not So Sweaty Christmas

  1. Xmas time always presents numerous challenges to my training too. Either I’m the one flying cross country (I liked the Tacos) or several family members camp here. And I too picked up a cold and ate/drank too much that cancelled two of my training runs this past week. Oh well, there is always next week. Happy New Year!

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

