‘Cause Tramps Like Us, Baby We Were Born To Run

17.5 Miles
Super Giddy Strides

Last Thursday morning I snuck in about 4.5 miles…due to scheduling constraints they had to be faster than I’d like on hills.

As I cruised, I mentally lamented about the fact that lately…it feels like all of my runs lately…well…

they suck.

My legs feel like lead, my mind is in another place, 1 mile feels like 3…and it’s been a while since I had a good old fashioned, endorphin raising, “Ahhh this is why I love this” kind of run.

IMG_2569

Dear Trader Joe’s, Your cookies are amazing, but because of your overachieving you’re destroying my marathon training.

This probably has something to do with the foundation I have laid lately which includes things like:

-Not spending time stretching, rolling, etc.

-My food pyramid looking something like: fruits, veggies, Christmas cookies, protein.

-Lack of sleep

-High stress

But Saturday…oh Saturday long run, you changed that.

For all intents and purposes, it should have been a terrible run (more on that later).

But, it turns out, my body and brain weren’t about to let that happen.  I went out at an 8 minute mile and had to literally slow my body down with some coaching (“Um, Sheila, there’s still like, I don’t know 17 miles or so ahead…take a chill pill“) and settled into a nice 8:30 pace spot on for about 13 miles…and then somewhere around there I just picked it up and kicked it in high gear for a fabulous negative split long run finishing with 8-8:15 minute miles.

Sunday morning verdict:  Tired, but not really sore.

Good girl.  A long run “push” at an appropriate pace.  I’ll take it.

And because the magic of my morning’s long run needed to continue, the boys and I bumped into this pretty little fella on the way home.  Ain’t she a beaut, Clark?

IMG_2585Have you had any magic runs lately?

What was the coolest thing you saw this weekend?

11 thoughts on “‘Cause Tramps Like Us, Baby We Were Born To Run

  1. i was left with only craptastic runs a few weeks back. the only thing that helped me? more cross training and rest coupled with little running. not what any runner wants to hear but it works! I think i was borderline OVERtraining! Hope your runs get better!

  2. I set myself some arbitrary number of miles I wanted to run for the year and because of a broken toe in the summer it was looking doubtful. Like the lunatic I am I decided to try anyway and churned out too many miles this weekend back to back. The first run was rushed, the second at the end of a long day. The third took place in freezing rain on an exposed but of trail Along the lake and the fourth was cold enough that I couldn’t feel my hands or face by the time I was a couple of miles in. Curiously, those last two felt pretty good.

  3. Not all strides are good strides, but they’re still strides. <- My deep thought for the day. 😉

    I've been experiencing rather painful strides as of late, but euphoric at the same time. Running is a strange drug.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

