Scaring the Crap Out of Me

10 Miles
Shouldn’t Have Been So Good Strides

Yesterday morning, the day was doing it’s best to throw me all the lemons it had.  But lucky for me, as I headed out on a run in lemonade mode and no paper cuts were to be found.

Lemon 1:  Achy Breaky Legs –  I don’t know what in the world happened but my legs were super creaky and squeaky (don’t say the older word) so I had to stop 1.5 miles in to stretch and reassess if I was going to make it the 10 miles.  Good news – stretching worked the kinks out of the ol’ legs.  It seems they’re as happy to wake up as Vanilla is on a typical morning.

There is nothing morning about this child…

Lemon 2:  Close Call – Yes it was an early morning run, but this mama waited until it was light out, dressed in super bright clothing and did the Safety Dance.   Trust me, you couldn’t miss me if you tried.  But my best efforts only earned me a #fail as my flash of neon was missed by a gentleman flying around a corner in his car going about 20-30 miles an hour.  He literally missed me by 2 inches as I jumped into the air screaming.

FTR, the state of my heart was confirmed because as my life flashed before my eyes I yelled to God instead of yelling out four-letter obscenities.

Could I BE wearing any more neon?
(Channeling my inner Joey Tribbiani and my neon shoes were off by then too)

Lemon 3:  Run Baby Run – As you could imagine there was a little monstrous adrenaline coursing through my veins.  This adrenaline – with a little assistance from Thursday’s ridiculously high consumption of high fiber vegetables – lead me to detour my route to make a trip to the ever fabulous Chevron bathroom.  It seems that my life flashing before my eyes quite literally scared the crap out of me.

Lemon 4:  I’m Only Happy When It Rains – Most people hate running in the rain, so I watched all the walkers, runners and bikers scowl as the clouds gathered and made their entrance by crying tears of joy all over SoCal.  I, on the other hand, would have smiled, but the sheer happiness of a rain run fueled some 7:30 minute miles so smiling wasn’t on the agenda at that moment.  Seriously, I *heart* rain runs.

But lemons be darned that run was pure lemonade all of the way through.

What’s your most recent “lemonade” workout?

14 thoughts on “Scaring the Crap Out of Me

  1. I love running in the rain, ok well love running in the drizzle fo shizzle. Glad you made it the 10 planned. Always feels kinda sucky to cut a run short, makes me cranky until I replace it with a good run.

  2. awesome pace for 10 miles! Glad you lived to blog about it, too…
    Lemonade workout? I got lost, tacking on almost 2 unnecessary miles, while doing Hill Repeats Thursday. Should’ve been hating life, but never found myself unhappy for a second.
    Running’s magical that way…sometimes.

  3. My recent lemonade-ish moment was when I decided to share a whole pie with friends, and only ended up getting one piece for myself. It as pure agony in classic lemonade fashion.

  4. I just blogged about my most recent Lemonade workout!

    Also, I’m shocked that you were nearly killed by a Southern California driver. They’re usually so good about watching the road and being considerate!

  5. Pingback: Hit the Road Jack | Striding Mom

  6. Pingback: Dear Drivers Letter | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

