Have Your [cup] Cake and Eat it Too

4 miles [Thursday]

40 minutes Stairmaster
1 hour class (with SR)
Early Morning Strides

As I told you about, Wednesday was the super fabulous Road Runner Sports Girls Night Out at their Laguna Hills location.

See, they promised and delivered.

I met up with Heather, Tiffany and Sarah.

Heather, Tiffany and Sarah…but most importantly, the bubbly.

The evening was everything they promised it would be and more.  They promised cupcakes and champagne, which were plentiful.  Good thing Tiffany is currently clean eating because that meant more champagne and cupcakes for me.  Yes that was cupcakes plural as in more than a couple.  Whoops!

I mean, I’d hate to see them go to waste.

Turns out there was a good crowd, we even had supermodels in our presence.

Keepin’ it classy

You see, we Midwest girls have got to stick together and show Cali just how to put on your #classypants from time to time.  Nice work Sarah!  I think I’m going to run Long Beach with my underwear on top of my shorts next weekend.

And of course, my promise that anyone who comes to come with me to any such event where prizes are handed out is guaranteed a win held true.  Tiffany scored some major loot:  free massage, and a full Road Runner outfit.

We decided it’s because of my lucky “fur” – which is what my sons like to call the hair on my arms.  They give me lots of super self-esteem boosting commentary like this and “You’re dupa [Polish for butt] shake-ah’s” on a regular basis.

Me, I got lots of calories and snagged a free Adidas headband.

Yep, there she is…all the laser lemon love.

Unfortunately I had to bail on the event a little early because of a family emergency, which was a real bummer.  Every time I go to one of these events I feel like I see everyone I know, but the convos were cut short to be there for the fam.

This whole posts begs me to ask the question…

Have you ever met friends online?

I know, kind of creepy…but seriously, I’ve met some fabulous running ladies through blogging.  Way back in the day I started a book club from a parenting website as well.

So…do tell me your online friend stories.  I’d love to hear them!

7 thoughts on “Have Your [cup] Cake and Eat it Too

  1. Yep! I’ve definitely met friends online…including my husband! (But I met him on match.com, so it wasn’t a super unique way of meeting someone you marry online). This event looks so fun! I will move back to Southern California so that I can go to the next one. Also, I didn’t know you were from the midwest! Where? Where? I’m from MN!

    • Ha ha…I know it translates to ass. But my kids don’t know that. In my family when I was a kid we couldn’t say butt but we could say dupa. It seems to sound a lot less crass despite the actual meaning 🙂

  2. Pingback: CIM Week Seven–Brain Training | Once Upon a (L)ime

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

