True Confession Thursday: Go Big or Go Home

7 miles walking
Happiest Place on Earth Strides

Yesterday was the last day of summer vacation.  I took a day off of work to participate in my favorite tradition – end of summer celebration kid style.  This meant a full day at Disneyland.

I love these babes, but apparently they have to get themselves edumacations.

We got up early (getting back on schedule) and I didn’t get a chance to work out, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise because we ended up walking 7 miles.  I have no idea how.  My ankle was a bit swollen by the end of the day so clearly I’m not out of the woods yet.  But hey, at least I got something in.

I’ll be honest – we have annual passes to Disney so it can become kind of “whatever” to my kids.  But today was a magical day.

We saw life in a different perspective.

The self-proclaimed happiest place on earth finally got some legit caffeination making this woman very happy.  #mommyhasneeds.

Somehow after a mid-morning latte the magical kingdom really did get a bit more magical.  And if a barista ever spells my name right I’ll probably kiss them right on the spot.

We experienced rain showers.  Since we live in SoCal and it rains about 4.5 times a year, my kids literally thought it was pretty much a miracle and I caught this picture of them enjoying it (and their non-caffeinated iced teas thank you very much LivingSocial Starbucks coupon).

Could you just pinch them to death? I could!

We capped off the day with a trip to Portillo’s – the quintessential Chicago-based hot dog and Italian beef restaurant I go to when I’m homesick.  My kids ordered extra pickles with a side of pickles on their hotdog because Skinny Runner told them pickles count as vegetables.  Thankyouverymuch.

I went all out and even got fries and dessert and didn’t even feel guilty (okay maybe just a little bit).

I promise you I will arm wrestle anyone for the mascarpone goodness that is in this strawberry shortcake.  I almost licked the bowl but I have standards…barely.

Strawberry Shortcake

Overall the kids kept talking about how amazing the day was, I think I’ve sufficiently brainwashed them that school is going to be awesome.  I got in a crazy unplanned extended walk and mostly, we decided we set a new world record in fun.

None of us got into perfect Usain Bolt position in time, but we were pretty darn close…

Do you have any back to school traditions?
Have you ever been shocked by an unexpected workout?

8 thoughts on “True Confession Thursday: Go Big or Go Home

  1. What a great way to finish off the summer! I am not sharing SR’s philosophy about pickles with my kids–it would be all over for vegetables in our house!

  2. we took a couple years off the Disney (World) passes when the kids started getting “meh” about going. They never did stop loving those monorails, though. That was their favorite “ride”.

    Your (truly adorable) boys are so lucky to have such a fun mom. That day sounds amazing!

    • That’s too funny about the monorail! We ride on the tram from the parking garage to the park and I always loudly announce it’s my favorite ride and put my arms up like a roller coaster just to embarrass them.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

