Hitting the Brakes

I can’t run.  I can’t bike.  I can’t swim.  I can’t do freaking anything without my ankle swelling up and making my life generally miserable.

So since I can’t run forgive me if I get a little Momish on you.  Yes, it’s like Amish but way sappier and a heck of a lot more sentimental.  But the next two weeks are quite possibly the worst time for me to be throwing the brakes on my physical exertion, because fits hitting the shan here folks.

Let’s preface this convo by saying I’m usuallynot overly sentimental.  I mean, I typically only cry when I have to get rid of a pair of running shoes I’ve been overly attached to or my sports bra gets thrown in the dryer.

Overly sentimental. Psht! Not me, I only watched him sleep like this for 40 minutes the other day. What?!  Who am I?

But for the love of the land the fact that my TWO youngest boys are starting kindergarten is throwing me.

Let’s talk about Vanilla for a moment because he’s my total snuggle puppy.  I mean, the kid wakes up and still asks for a quick morning cuddle before breakfast.  If we’re walking outside and I hold my hand out, within 2 seconds he’s all over it like a shark on chum and has his sticky little hand nestled into mine.

But. it. won’t. last.

Why swim when we can spend a 95+ degree day snuggled on the SAME lounge chair?

I know the days are numbered.  He won’t squeeze my hand for reassurance or hold onto my waist because he’s needing a little extra confidence boost.  He won’t think I’m the coolest person on the planet (which is really a shame because, hello, he’s almost right) and I’m really struggling with letting my last two babies grow up.  As a mom of almost twins (a day apart) it’s like a 2 for 1 blow to the gut with each milestone.

Normal TV watching stance. Poor thing, got Mom’s scrawntastic chicken legs. Shhh don’t tell him.

So I’m literally savoring these moments with my babes, because honestly, 5 & 7 are ridiculously amazing ages.  I lap them up like the last drop of wine in my cup and recognize that things will be far too different in the blink of an eye.

And in that same vein I have to remember that a few weeks of resting my craptastic foot will seem like nothing in the future and I’ll be just fine racing in a few weeks even if it’s not a fancy schmancy PR.  And I shouldn’t get crabby when I have a bad run because a bad run is better than no run at all.

Anyone else wanting to bottle their current phase in life up and drink it forever? 
What makes it so special?

9 thoughts on “Hitting the Brakes

  1. SO with you on this! I just sent my son off to middle school and my daughter to second grade. I miss them already. And I think about it all the time, how I need to savor these moments. It’s too fast.

    And really sorry about the ankle. I hope you get some relief soon!

    • Awww that’s so cute. So you still like them when they’re middle schoolers? Very encouraging! I love my second grader but he’s starting with this attitude business that just doesn’t jive with the way I roll!

    • Am resting that foot when I can – It’s more ice & compression. I queued up a post about how I jacked it up for tomorrow. Let’s just say Mama wasn’t happy. I’ll bet your glad to have at least one back in the house now 🙂 Talk to you soon!

  2. What a sweetheart! I really should not compare your snuggle boy to my snuggle puppy — and I won’t. BUT, it’s hard enough for me to leave the pup home every day; I can’t imagine sending a child off to Kindergarten! Okay, so I may have compared them. But only because my dog is my child at the moment.

    Great perspective. The swollen ankle will be a thing of the past soon. In fact, you probably won’t even remember it one day. Savoring these moments with your kids, you’ll remember that.

    • Oh I get the dog as a child thing…I have a lot of friends/family in that boat. I am fine with it as long as they understand that they can leave their dog to go to Starbucks when they need a break and I’d have CPS called on me 🙂

  3. While I don’t have kids, I totally know what you mean about kids growing up. My niece is 5 and she always gets so excited whenever I come over to see her. I know one day there won’t be so much enthusiasm from her when I visit so I doing my best to enjoy it now!

    Hope that foot feels better!

    • Indeed! Though my niece is 10 and still thinks I’m cool most of the time. I think being a cool aunt is far easier to maintain for longer than being the “cool mom”. Probably because if she acts up I just say, “Let your mom handle this!”

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

