Listen To Your Heart

25 minute stair master
15 minute bike
10 Min Blitz to Daycare Strides

Yay for True Confession Thursdays and the baring of my soul…or more like soles.

Listen to Your Heart…or at least your mother truckin’ body.

I’ve been looking at going a bit shorter with the hair lately. Methinks this might be the way to go, no? Source

Are you channeling your inner Roxette yet?  ‘Cause I sure am.  I’m playing a mental track of “Doh!  That was so stupid Sheila!!” and “Smooth move slick!” over and over and over and over again in my mind.

I’ve been avoiding talking about this, but it’s time.  Gah!

Nah, nah, nah, nah….I’m not listening! I can’t hear you!

This summer was the summer of recovery and I’ve been doing it right for once.  Increases of about 10% a week and easing into speed.  Text-freaking-book recovery.

I hit my first 30 mile week and was feelin’ fab so I took the old legs to the dreadmill because of the heat.  I was doing the same darn workout I did in May that got me in trouble – 800’s on the mill.  I felt the pulls, I felt the twists, I felt off – but I pushed through.

To continue my with my genius maneuver I ran 5 miles and biked 18 the next day.  Smooth move slick.

Why:  Because it felt so good.

That’s how a lot of Lifetime Movies that have terrible endings begin as well.

I guess this girl never learns.  I can hardly run right now without irritating half of my lower body.  Something is off and I’m afraid to find out what.  My groin is flared up again and my achilles has a mind of it’s own.

I’m going to see Dr. Scott on Friday and hoping he can work his magic to pinpoint what is going on and get me back on track.  Until then – no running.  Just high steppin’ on the stair master and the bike because those are pain free.

Are you as brilliant as I am?
Have you ever pissed off an injury because you were pushing it too fast or too far too quickly?

15 thoughts on “Listen To Your Heart

    • Well the goal is going back slooowly which I was doing, but didn’t listen when I should have slowed down. Injury is always a threat but there are definitely ways to avoid it – mostly stretching, ramping up slowly and stretching, stretching, stretching.

  1. I don’t have to answer your questions and you can’t make me. So there.

    Sorry you’re feeling rough. It’s such a slippery slope, isn’t it? You’re doing everything right, now, though. And that makes all the difference. 🙂
    I hope you get some definitive answers and plans from your doc.

    • Uh how did I not think of that yet. I’ll ask Dr. Scott to assess my race walking gait as well as a run gait check tomorrow! Perhaps this is my body way’s of directing me to a new calling 😉

  2. Have I ever? Only 95654654 times! You’re right. The girl never learns.

    Good job with the textbook recovery, now you need to incorporate the “listen to your body and stop when it tells you to” method. I fail miserable at that method.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

