The Butt Hug: Aspaeris Pivot Review

My youngest son is butt height.  So he often comes behind me and gives me a squeeze with his face firmly planted into my behind.

It’s cute and he doesn’t seem to mind, but I kinda feel badly for him.  Of all the places you don’t want to put your face, it’s directly in my rear.  But somehow, he still keeps giving me the butt hug.

Yes this is my 45 pound, 48 inch son…you know the one who was wearing 2T swim trunks he’s so skinny actually WEARING these comfortably.

The other day I received my order of Aspaeris Pivot shorts (note I paid for these…this is an unsolicited review)  in the mail.   My first reaction was, “I am going to fit into these how?”  They’re basically as wide as my arm.   As you can see in the picture – my super skinny 5 year old had them on and these were supposed to hug over my toosh.  Riiiiiiiiiiiiight.

I put them on and felt like Vanilla was hugging my behind the entire time I had them on.

They were spectacularly tight and given the recovering groin injury, it makes me feel a little more comfortable “opening ‘er up” on my runs.   So quote me on this Aspaeris, wearing your shorts is like one giant prolonged ass hug.  And it feels mighty fine.

The Pros:

-Nothing is going nowhere.  These babies cling tighter than two teenagers in a dark movie theater.

-With the two layers of fabric you’ll never be concerned you have camel toe.

-They come up Jessica Simpson jean incident high to suck in my 2 baby belly skin.  I thought putting these on would be as difficult as putting canned biscuits back in the tube, but turns out they weren’t.

-I don’t know what they do technically, but they feel great.

The Could Have Been a Bit Better:

Picture attempt #1 – fail.  5 year old throws leg on lap.

-I got in on the buy one red pair deal which I cannot possibly run in.  I’ll have to use these for recovery only.  I only run in black due to…ahem…bladder issues that creep up at unexpected times.  Thankyoufirstbornson. End rant.

-No pocket.  Even my skinny minny spandex shorts have a little pocket for a key on the back outside which I actually use fairly regularly.

Picture attempt #2 – double fail.  Other 5 year old throws head on lap.

-If you have to pee in the bushes midrun then it’s a little tangly & difficult to get back into them.  Not that I ever do that, what?

That’s pretty much it.  Since I’m on the mend from my groin injury I’ll just simply hope that this is the “added insurance” as I’m ramping up distances and times.

Do you squeeze your butt?

Do you compress?  If so what’s your favorite compression item?

14 thoughts on “The Butt Hug: Aspaeris Pivot Review

  1. you’re freaking me out, a little, with our similarities.

    I just received my red (and black) shorts, this week. Currently unable to run, so I haven’t been able to give them a full try. I really appreciate your breakdown, though. Hadn’t thought about the pocket issue! That kinda sucks..

    Had a groin injury earlier in the year and it was a pain. Glad you’re recovering and not still being plagued by it.

    Have a great Monday!

    • Indeed! Crazy similarities. And yes, the groin injury has been NAGGING. I’m almost on month 5 of it and it *finally* seems to have resolved. That said, I’ll probably tweak it today since every time I say that it gets all jacked up again!

  2. Hahaha I love the honesty of your concerns under the “cons” list! I love love love my Aspaeris Pivot shorts! But like you said, I can’t/don’t use them for every run. There’s no way you can do any bush squatting pee breaks in them! I mostly only run in mine on long runs when I know for sure I can find and use a real bathroom. I love them for recovery though and always travel with one pair to run in and one for after I shower. They’re also good for yoga and HIT training sessions.

  3. I hope your injury gets better soon! Injuries suck!! Those shorts look ridiculously tight. I’m sure if I even got an XXXL it wouldn’t fit over my calf. I’ve heard good things about compression shorts though!

  4. I just got a pair of Aspaeris shorts! This is my first purchase of compression anything (I have a pair of socks on the way) and I’m curious how much butt hugging should be going on? I used the size chart on the website and based on my measurements I was to order a Medium. I put them on as soon as I got home and they felt snug, but pretty comfortable. I wore them again last night and they felt considerably less snug. How do I know if I’m getting the benefits of compressing or I’m just wearing sort of tight spandex shorts???

    • That’s a great question. My guess is that they’re still significantly snug but I know I just have gotten used to the “tightness”. Same goes with my compression socks. Even my new pairs don’t feel as tight after I got used to wearing them. I think their sizes tend to run small (I ordered a size larger than my measurements indicated on their website) so I’m guessing you’re in the right size! Let me know how you like the squeezing!

      • I love the squeeze! Last night I wore my shorts + socks after 8.5 tough (read: hot!) miles and I felt great. Once this SoCal weather returns to it’s perfectly mild 65-70 degrees, I’ll be donning this awesome compression gear under my clothes for extra hugs 🙂

      • You’re in SoCal? Whereabouts? (You can always email me instead of posting here!). And yes it’s freaking hot out. I have a post all about it tomorrow. It involves copious amounts of whining on video though 😉

  5. So I don’t really have any comments about compression shorts (other than you make me curious to try them), but I’ve been laughing about the “butt hug” idea since I read this a few days ago. My daughter is butt height too, but she chooses to hug everyone from the front. Awkward. : )

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

