The Runterview: Meet Tiffany Henness

14 miles
Brazen Back Bay Strides

Back Bay – where running 10-20 miles on a Saturday is totally normal. Source

On Saturday I hit up the Back Bay to do a little running.  I kicked off the run by meeting up with Tiffany of Running Hutch and a fellow Sweat Pink Fit Approach ambassador.  It’s always interesting getting to know someone online then meeting in person, and I have to admit, Tiffany was one of the sweetest people – which is an added bonus since I can be a little rough on the edges!

All that, and we found out we have a ton in common, so I am most definitely looking forward to more runs (maybe some races!) with her.  She’s a budding Crossfit guru and an adult onset athlete so hearing her “fitness story” was fabulous!

We opted to do a “Runterview” (How cute eh?  Her word and from what the Google tells me, the first of it’s kind).  Here’s more about this heavy medal pursing rock star of an athlete…

Tiffany & I rocking the Back Bay early Saturday. She’s cute and I’m all awkward and gangly – yet again…

If you were a yoga pose what would you be & why? Happy Baby. Some people may think I look silly but I don’t care. It feels good.

Most embarrassing race moment: Not sure. Probably being passed by an 84 year old at mile 22 of my first marathon (I had chatted with and passed him at mile 13 and didn’t expect to see him again – doh).

Best email from a reader : It wasn’t an e-mail but I got a shout out from another blogger about how I help to give her motivation. I read that and it was huge for me.

Craziest thing you’ve run with stuffed into your pants/sports bra: I run pretty light but I’ll put whatever wherever if I quickly need to shuffle things around (phone, gels, flip camera, hat). I did put trail trash in my waistband once so I could carry it off the trails. It was some energy packets from other runners and it was icky sticky.

What percentage of your wardrobe is spandex/technical material? I have tech t’s from races coming out my ears. Surprisingly, my spandex collection is lacking. 😦 But run/workout gear is definitely about 50% of the clothing I own.

Celebrity/athletic doppledanger: Kristi Yamaguchi – or so I’ve been told.

What’s your super secret hidden talent? I can often remember the weirdest details, like what someone was wearing the last time we went bowling with them. Sometimes people think I’m stalkerish [I most definitely didn’t get a stalkerish vibe whatsoever 😉 ] because I’ll remember specific things they’ve said, like what they’re favorite drink at Starbucks is, and they won’t even remember they shared that information. I swear I’m not creepy. I just pay attention. Oh, and I can still do the splits.

Wanna read more about Tiffany?  I know I love following her!  Catch her on Twitter, her blog or check out her Fit Approach Sweat Pink Ambassador page.

Oh, and did you see the stark white full moon on Saturday morning in the Back Bay?  I spent 5 miles hauling it to the port-a-potty that is USUALLY there only to find it gone.  So let’s just say there are some really well watered bushes over there.  My first mid-run, public trou-dropping.

I may or may not have emerged from the bushes a hot tangled mess of Aspaeris Pivot shorts and sweat trying to straighten my pants out only making my…err…service to nature only more obvious.  Awesome.

4 thoughts on “The Runterview: Meet Tiffany Henness

  1. Pingback: Runterview with @StridingMom! | HEAVY MEDAL

  2. Pingback: August 2012: Runterview with @StridingMom! - Thoroughly Thriving

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

