The Good, The Bad and the Fugly

15 miles on the bike
1/2 mile swim
1:02 total
Serious Lack o’ Strides

So I had another nice little visit with Dr. Scott – Active Release Technique Artist & Saddist Extraordinaire.

We had a nice little chat during my appointment.  And by chat I mean, a somewhat normal conversation laced with yelps and me biting my hand using everything in my power to not drop the F-bomb like snowflakes in Chicago in winter.  Our conversation:

Dr. Scott:  Have I bruised you yet at any of your appointments?
Me:  Nope (through clenched teeth)
Dr. Scott:  Well today’s the day.

Here’s a little racing gem. True story, I remember finishing the race and thinking I had to look like a total bad ass in the pictures. Instead my pain shows. I probably made this face for most of my appointment with Dr. Scott.

Actually, as painful as it can be, I’m a HUGE Active Release Technique (ART) fan.  That stuff works.

The Good:  Contrary to those googling me, I am not naughty and have been really good for the last month.  I have stuck to the Dr’s orders to a tee (this is new for me!) and am definitely on the road to recovery.

We discussed that with SUPER warmups (like I should be dripping sweat before I’m running anything over a 8:30 min mile) and easing into things so I can gradually start increasing my distance.  Big win!

The Bad:  I’m still needing more time to recover.  We discussed my biggest problem right now:  Speed kills.  It’s not the long, slow runs that are aggravating my adductor insertion (or whatever the heck is making my crotch/groin hurt), but it’s the actual speed work, track running, etc. that’s doing the most damage.

The Fugly:  His words- “I think you can hit the track and do speed work again in August or September.”

SAYYYYYYYYYYYYY WHAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTT?

The man’s got a point though.  I’d like to actually not face a major injury and squelch this killer inflammation in my adductor.  Speed work aggravates the crap out of it.

You see the woman to my left? She’s seen the best and worst in my for over 30 years and STILL calls me several times a day. And the dude on the left – my biggest cheerleader.

He seems to think an October half is reasonable – so we shall see.  I’m still eying the Zooma Great Lakes race so I can spend some time with Mumsie Dear (yes when my phone rings that’s what shows up with an angry face)…but it’s so hard to justify the cost of airfare from the Left Coast, travel from Chi-town, and race costs.

I love my family, I love running, and I love doing special things with my mom…but yeesh – a girl only has so much pocket change laying around.

Back to the topic at hand – injury recovery.  I’ve actually learned a few things during this hiatus.

-The bike is your friend.  I raced this weekend without any real training in a month – no traditional speed work, sprints, or even tempo runs.   But I have had an intimate relationship with whatever bike happens my way.  And I’m not talking all So Cal beach cruiser style either.  I’m talking straight up hills, high intensity, sweat beading on my wrist, crazy intense biking.  It’s actually kept my endurance up surprisingly better than I ever could have anticipated.

My race wasn’t stellar but it wasn’t abysmal either.

-Taking the plunge.  I wasn’t a huge fan of swimming (read here).  But it’s getting a little better.  Some days I’ll even accidentally say I like it.  Don’t worry, I correct myself really fast afterward.

-Readjusting goals is not failure.  I’m having to shift my goals and expectations a bit with this news.  The fact of the matter is, I don’t want to be entirely sidelined for months from doing anything.  Right now, I’ve got a pretty sweet (albeit it not perfect) workout thing going on.

So I’ve had to let go of some of the longer races I wanted to run this fall season.  I likely won’t be shaving any major time of my PR’s in the foreseeable future without speed work.   And I’ll be hanging out in the pool and on the bike longer than I want.  And that’s not a failure – it’s just my reality.

Funny, before kids I don’t think I would have handled that lesson quite as gracefully, but they’ve taught me to adapt.  Oh and to yell really loud.  But mostly adapt.

2 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad and the Fugly

  1. You are amazing! I want to try ART so badly but my body hates to be messed with. It seriously does not even cooperate well with foam rollers or compression sleeves. I can’t believe he admitted he was going to bruise you. I may have bolted out of the door for fear right then 😉 You BAMF!

    • Kris, this totally cracked me up. I think you’d probably disagree if you saw me doing lamaze style breathing and pretending not to cry at certain parts. That said, it’s been REALLY helpful in getting my tissue to recover from this gnarly injury faster than it would have (believe it or not, this is fast – eek!)

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

