It’s About To Get Real

Miles:  4.2 (+1 bonus walking mile)
Minutes:  35:35
Starting Over Strides

Let’s just say you’ve been warned.  Today, we’re going to get real.

Last week, on vacay I got to meet some super awesome friends of my family.  Included in this was one Mrs. Cortney.  She’s a wicked awesome nurse hailing from Boston and had the cajones to actually invite me to her home for the marathon next year.  Bless her, she has no idea what she’s in for if I take her up on it!

Forgive the water drop blur, but this is the only pic I have of Cortney and I (plus my uncle) chillin’ like villains a la playa.

But I digress.  Cortney is an avid blog reader (*waves to her*), but ever so eloquently stated:

If I wrote a blog, it’d be all real.  Like, ‘Today I just want to rip my husbands balls off.  Or I felt really fat and lazy today.’

This was spoken with the most adorable slightly Boston accent.  Totally presh.

Anywho…which leads me to today’s post – Cort, this one’s for you.

Today was my first real-ish run post-injury.  I’ve run a few times but it’s been stop and go or in extreme conditions cutting it short.  I set out to do 4-5 miles.

I started out at a nice pace, or so I thought.  Until my MapMyRun app informed me I was running an 8:43 pace.   Sure I was on trails…but seriously…what?!

I wasn’t expecting to tear it up today, but it just deflated me.  Running that pace would have felt like walking a month ago.  So I ponied up and shaved it down to 8:15 for another 1.5 miles which still felt like slogging through Jello and was totally depressing.  Until….

An oldie but a goodie. Vanilla throws the BEST tantrums – always has. This is how I felt post-run. I may or may not have indulged.

Well, you see…my stomach pretty much still hates me from whatever parasitic, bacterial, I knew better than to eat raw veggies and salads but did it anyway and now regret it situation last week.  And about 2 miles in I got some oh too familiar cramping.  It started with a little twitch, then a rumble, then an all out futbol match in my large intestine.

People, you want to know when 2 miles feels like 8?  When you’re spending most of your time trying to figure out where to drop trou in the middle of a busy trail to unleash the wrath of my colon onto some unsuspecting bushes.

It was brutal.

The run ended badly, my attitude was bad, my stomach was bad, I was crabby despite the fact that my groin didn’t hurt – which means I should have been happy.

I have been toying with running the Low Tide Stride down in Coronado this weekend.  I’ll be luckily if I finish the darn race in 1 hour which might hurt my ego more than my groin.

Might be time to pony up and just be grateful eh?  I guess there’s always tomorrow.

Oh and for the record – no bushes were harmed in my run today.  I totally made it to a bathroom – barely.

6 thoughts on “It’s About To Get Real

  1. OMG Sheila how am I just reading the NOW! haha. I ❤ it. Your blog is awesome! Thanks for the shout out 🙂 I'm excited to add this to my blog roll!!!

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

