I’ve Created A Monster….

(actually several) And I love it!

Workout:  10 miles on the bike & 20 minutes of 50M sprints in the pool

Remember my super awesome Mumsie Poo?  The one who got her behind in gear to run her first 5k since I was in high school and who I dragged into doing the iTryAthlon with me when she flies to Cali from Chi-Town in July?

My Momma’s so cool she doesn’t even smile for photographs. Say *cheese* to my sister too!

So I get a call from her that goes something like this:

Mom:  Hey, guess what I was out to eat and saw a flyer for this 5k so I grabbed a signup and am doing it this weekend.

Oh. my. stars.  She’s officially a runner now folks – spontaneously signing up for races since she’s trained up and doing them for fun, not for torture.

*wipes a tear*

My Mama’s all growed up. (at least as a runner, let’s not get too carried away)

*sniffle*

And thanks to SkinnyRunner and Tricia Minnick I keep reading about the Zooma Great Lakes race.  And I pine…and languish…and wish airfare from Cali to the Midwest was far cheaper.  Because, hello my mom and I have had some good times in Lake Geneva.

And by good I mean crappy teenage attitude and sulking by the beach because I didn’t see my friends, the time I decided it was a good idea to jump off a boat into the lake (while I had a cast on my foot), and her finding my underage sister pretty tipsy for the first time (sorry sis).  Place is jam packed full of memories people.

Over the last few days I realize I have created several other little monsters….

Yesterday I came upstairs to find my children had turned my living room into the gym.  As I type this, they’re back at it doing push ups on the ol’ yoga mat, lifting weights and rolling out their legs with The Stick.

I think I should call 24 Hour Fitness and cancel my membership with these studs to train with!

They grow up so fast these days….facial hair at 7!

And I also passed the snark onto Strawberry who engaged me in the following conversation yesterday.

I hear Strawberry getting bossy...
Me:  Stop bossing your brothers around, I waited my entire life to have kids so I could boss someone else around.  Stop doing my job.

Strawberry:  *deadpan* Go ahead mom, sprinkle my life with joy by bossing me around every minute of every day.  *turns out his heels and disappears*

Any races you’re wishing you could run? 

Pining for anything in your life these days?

7 thoughts on “I’ve Created A Monster….

  1. So did I mention I was at Bookers drinking beer and eating baby burgers when I saw the flyer and signed up? Ha, best part was signing Jodi up for it too!

  2. Agree Stridingmom…. most of the best race decisions are made after a beverage or two or…. Well done Holly! Keep doing it and making it happen. That tri will seem like a piece of cake! Of which you will get to eat… when you finish it!! 🙂 “Go Big or Go Home!”

  3. Thanks Guys! Margaret, I appreciate all the support and encouragement. I’m so excited about the itriathlon and I will be eating cake and everything I can get my hands on after. All that working out makes me hungry. Gotta go, time to run/walk and bike 🙂

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

