Slow Down!

Miles:  Bricking it with 11 biked, 2.5 run (plus a host of other stuff)
Minutes:  Who the heck knows…I’m on vacay!
Vacay Strides

I’m not going to lie…I’m feeling a little lost.  You see, I’m on a vacation.

Without my kids.

And I don’t have a house to clean.

No bills to pay.

No laundry to do.

No errands to run.

Just a vacation.

And as I’ve said before – I don’t exactly sit well.  It’s a little unnerving for me to just BE.  I try really, really hard.  I do yoga since it’s a slower activity, but it’s hard to focus because I always end up thinking of the gazillion point 2 things I should be doing.

Since I was a kid, sitting has never been in my nature.  Honestly, sitting makes me a little crabby.

Image

Say hello to my little friend waiting for me by my beach chair yesterday morning!

Yesterday, I got a good reminder of this.  I woke up and got myself a brick workout (bike, run, bike), and even the road signs were screaming at me to slow down.  <<Reduzca Velocidad>> they screamed in black and yellow.

But don’t worry, Mother Nature was giving me a run for my money.  If I even wanted to run fast in my mind, the 88 degree morning with 88% humidity was going to ensure that I wasn’t going to far that fast.  Congratulations world, you won that one.

I resisted the sitting with kayaking, volleyball, swim contests (clearly I’m a grown up), and accidental water aerobics.

Yes, water aerobics.

Image

Check out that class in a glass. I was super aerobically excited!

My cousin and I were just floating in the ocean and suddenly everyone around us was participating in water aerobics.  This is clearly a Cross Fit sanctioned class that will be coming to a gym near you because it included incredible moves like:  running in water, doing the chicken dance and clapping.  My friends, you will never be the same after a class like this.

And if that weren’t enough, my friend Brandon and I decided to climb the palm trees and hunt down some coconut water to rehydrate from today’s festivities.

Image

She works hard for her electrolytes.

Image

So hard for her electrolytes.

Image

Wait, this doesn’t taste like icy cold Zico?!

Actually the resort provided the drinks and we just staged the whole coconut hunt.  Turns out 88 degree coconut water is not very refreshing.  We opted to put those down and celebrate our volleyball loss (can you believe we threw the game to end it faster?!?! The nerve!) with a cerveza instead.

PS – Brandon, if you read this…lo ciento.  Sorry for posting our adventure to the internets world, but it was too fun.

Which leads me to today…I’m tired.  So very tired.  And sore…very, very sore…

And so I will Redusca Velocidad and try to just enjoy a day of rest.  No running, no biking, but likely a bunch of swimming.

How do you shut down for vacay?  How do you get through the rest struggles?

2 thoughts on “Slow Down!

  1. How cute are you? Glad you are having a great time. Don’t even think about the house and kids….okay maybe think about the kids 😉 but enjoy that well deserved vacation time.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

