Trying Something New

What?! I hear showing the level of pain you’ve had while pointing to your injury in a mirror leads to faster recovery.

It’s been almost 2 weeks since my feet have hit the pavement.  Actually I did run across the entire outdoor mall the other day when I needed my laptop STAT for a work project during a dinner meal (if you read this, I’m still sorry dinner guest!).

Thursday I am technically able to start running- or so says Dr. Scott, who is still not on my BFF list despite his well-intentioned insistence of the running ban.

I’m also technically assuming my groin will continue to get better (each day is a little better than the one before).

Given that I live about 1 mile from a local Road Runner and I constantly see the First Thursday Adventure Run ads, I figure it’s time to pony up and give it a whirl.  I don’t know many local runners in this here neck of the woods, and those long runs can get kinda tedious goin’ solo.

So it looks like it’s time for this little classy pants to step up, and step out. 

Plus, they pretty much had me at free stuff & beer.

Not to mention:  Mama needs new compression socks.   Actually Mama needs to compress everything on her body lately.

Given that it’s not an actual race- I should take it easy and it looks like there’s little break points to stop and get tickets so it should be an all around Charlie Sheen “Winning!” for breaking back into the ol’ routine.

Any of you localites near a Road Runner ever gone to one of these?  Any South Orange Countians want to check it out?

Will my run be triumphant?

Will I walk? 

Who knows…but at least I know there’s freebies at the end 🙂

3 thoughts on “Trying Something New

  1. OH my word it was fun. . That said, I will be blogging about my misadventures at this event. It was a mix between “There Will Be Blood” and “Revenge of the Nerds”.

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

