Urban Run

10.34 miles
Stylin’ Strides

So after the last crazy few weeks of work, I realized I needed to get away, unplug, recharge, whatever you want to call it for a few hours before I blew my top yesterday.  I wasn’t quite sure how to do this, but I knew I’d figure out a way.

My cousin…and me bringing sexy back with my compression sleeves.  True story, look above her head and a giant hot dog is pouring ketchup on her…

Here’s the thing – if you were to ask anyone in the entire world who knows me to use my name and the word spontaneous in the same sentence…well…

Basically you’d not get a response because they would be laying on the floor laughing too hard to respond.

So this spontaneous plan was a big stretch.

I got a call from my fabulous cousin (yes I’m talking to you) asking if I wanted to meet up at a festival.  So I spontaneously pulled over in said city and decided to park my car and run 10 miles to the festival (I’d cab it back with them later).

A few things.

A- I am NOT familiar with the ins and outs of this city.

B- Who wants to walk around with me for hours after a 10+ miler in the hot So Cal sun?

C- I was desperate – who cared?

Citrusy Hydration Station

So here’s the low down on my urban run:

  • I got lost.  Like SERIOUSLY lost.  Ended up in the worst part of town watching multiple drug deals kind of lost.  Yes, I saw 3 of them.
  • I found an awesome cheering squad from as surprising population – the homeless.  Lots of cheers, high 5’s and maybe some comments I couldn’t quite (or didn’t want to) understand.
  • I am trying to start a fashion trend by wearing compression sleeves to street festivals.  Surprisingly it didn’t catch on.
  • Running is usually my stress release, but even after 10+ miles it was all balled up.
  • After last week’s hydration mistake, I wasn’t going to let that happen again so I was sure to double hydrate:  Orange Nuun & Shocktop (to keep with the citrus theme).  They actually paired surprisingly well.

After a few hours of run, sun & fun I made my way home to finish up some reports I had waiting.  It was a much needed break…and quite the adventure.

My question to you is what post-run beers pair well with which Nuun flavors?

I’m thinking a taste test might be in order!  Any takers?

6 thoughts on “Urban Run

  1. You are so clever to run there! Honestly I think the calf sleeve trend IS catching on. I see them everywhere. I cringe, lol. Sorry you got lost but it does sound like an adventurous & fun day!

  2. Thats quite spontaneous! I’m very much a planner myself so I understand what a big deal that is! Sorry you got lost 😦 But you got to see the city in all its glory haha.. AND you made it to the festival. But think about it this way, you learned one way to navigate the city and I’m sure you’ll never forget that route. So you are set for next time!

  3. Pingback: Team Nuun | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

