Run like a grandmother?

A few years and a foot of hair ago...

This is my mom…

She’s pretty cool, and in all likelihood will kill me for post this…but what’s she going to do, ground me?

She and I engaged in an email conversation yesterday that I thought warranted a share.

Mom:  Think I can do a 5k by June 2?

Me:  I think it’s doable.

Mom:  I’m biting the bullet and registering.

Me:  Do it!  Do it!  Yay

Mom:  I have committed.

                                                       Me:  You have or you are?

                                                        Mom:  Both.

                                                      Me:  What does that make me?

                                                   Mom:  Certifiable.

So there you have it.  My mother…amazing because

  1. She raised me and lived to tell the tale.
  2. She has 6 grandkids…rock on!
  3.  She’s running a 5k for the first time in about 15 years.

Post a comment to cheer her on 🙂  I’ll be sure to send them her way!

6 thoughts on “Run like a grandmother?

  1. I am so going to ground that girl! I just hope no one is judging me on time. I just want to cross the finish line, upright 🙂

  2. Margaret. I will be thinking of you and that great picture of your shoes that you posted! I was so jealous and wanted to be that person with the cute shoes ready for a long run 🙂 You are my inspiration, along with my daughter who is running 26 miles, not just 3. She’s my hero and my inspiration.

  3. Pingback: A Widd-el Perspective | Striding Mom

Tell me about it! Leave a comment here...

